The Promise Ring Reunite For Two Shows & Rarities Album In 2012

Wednesday December 7, 2011 - 45 months ago

Photo Credit: Chrissy Piper

To the delight of their legions of loyal fans, The Promise Ring have officially announced their reunion for two upcoming shows, as well as the release of a rarities compilation on Dangerbird Records in the summer of 2012.

Tickets are on sale now for the band’s first show in 7 years, which will take place February 24th at Turner Hall Ballroom in Milwaukee, WI. The second reunion show on February 25th at The Metro in Chicago, IL has already SOLD OUT!

These shows will feature the band’s classic line-up – featuring lead singer/guitarist Davey von Bohlen, drummer Dan Didier, guitarist Jason Gnewikow and bassist Scott Schoenbeck – performing songs from throughout their beloved catalog.

“I’m looking forward to hanging out with the guys again, playing songs and shows,” said Dan Didier of The Promise Ring. “I am also eager to get the songs that haven’t seen the light of day out into the world.”

Formed in 1995 in Milwaukee, WI, The Promise Ring released three full-length albums on Jade Tree Records—1996’s 30 Degrees Everywhere, 1997’s Nothing Feels Good, and 1999’s Very Emergency – which garnered rave reviews and earned the band a devoted following for their unique sound, which molded indie rock into a new subgenre that became known as “emo.”

The Promise Ring became the first rock band to sign with Epitaph’s Anti- Records for their highly acclaimed 2002 swan song, Wood/Water, which was produced by Stephen Street (The Smiths, Blur) at famed Jacobs Studios outside London.

During their prolific career, the band toured with a first-rate group of like-minded bands including At the Drive In, Jimmy Eat World, Jets to Brazil, Burning Airlines, and many others. After an amicable break-up, the band’s sound and reputation have lived on as an important influence on countless bands.

Meanwhile, Promise Ring members have enjoyed further success with other projects: Von Bohlen and Didier with their new band, Maritime, which released their fourth album, Human Hearts, on Dangerbird Records in April 2011; and Schoenbeck as a longtime member of Dashboard Confessional.



Add to Google


Upcoming Releases


Magnetic Bodies/Maps of Bones

Coming Oct 16, 2015

Latest Releases



Released Oct 2, 2015

The Dears

Times Infinity Volume One

Released Sep 25, 2015

Moke Hill

Time Stops Moving

Released Aug 7, 2015

Mailing List

Sign up and be the first to know about new releases, free music, tours, and special offers.
* Never spam, easy to unsubscribe.